Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused on SAP Netweaver Installtion

bharathyp
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

First of all I would like to begin by saying that I am new to the world of SAP NW I come from traditional understanding of SAP R/3 and ECC versions, BUT, nothing about NW.

So i know that SAP NW is for HCM, SCM and CRM and such.

And ECC 6.0 is for the traditional modules like FICO, PM and such

So my question is this. Currently I have a IDES ECC 6.0 ehp4 on windows2008r2 and it is running fine. Oh, btw it is running on ABAP stack, below image might be more descriptive this is using Oracle DB btw

So i want to install SAP NW 7.4 using Oracle, so was wondering can i install on the same Virtual Machine as my IDES ECC 6.0? or have to be on a spearate machine? Tks

So am I right to say that this NW 7.4 can run on its own with out having a ECC 6.0 system? Cause what I am thinking is that lets say HR module is already present in the ECC version and HCM is part of NW buisness suite, so the data of HR have to be used for HCM (this might be really a silly question but sorry I am more of a HW and then slowly progressed to SAP Basis guy)

I also know that it is possible to have dual-stack, but this has been continued from NW 7.4, except for PI, so what does that mean?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

nikhil_bose
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

1. NW 7.4 SID (System ID) must be different that of IDES

2. NW74 might be a preview version whereas your ECC is IDES with sample data for practicing.

3. For NW74 PI supports dual-stack i.e. java and ABAP stack under single SID (System ID)

regards,

Nikhil

bharathyp
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hey Nikhil,

Thanks for that your remark regarding

the SID has to be different explains most important question of all.

So please correct me on the following this that I assume, If I am wrong.

So I can't obviously install NW 7.4 on my present IDES system.