cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the use of a proxy ?

ajeyagv
Participant
0 Kudos

I am a beginner in SAP PI and I am trying to understand the concept of Proxy.

I read the definition of Proxies as " they are executable interfaces that convert non-language specifics implementations into language specifics."

To a beginner like me (or only me) this is really hard to understand what exactly it does. Does it convert the data types and the message types that we defined in ESR into WSDL language entities ? I thought that conversion of such entities into WSDL entities happen in every scenarios. If not, shouldn't every scenario have proxies instead of interfaces ? Where exactly do we use proxies ? Give some real life example on this. And please please, explain all these in laymen terms. I'm still learning.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member

Hi Ajeya,

To connect with SAP systems we will use three types of connections.

--> Idoc (We will use If we have standard structure/ idoc is available in ECC end)

--> Proxy (If large amount of records needs to transfer)

--> RFC (If WAS < 6.2 we use RFC other wise will go for proxy only)

So take one example from SAP data is coming and needs to transfer via XI, if standard structure is there means we will use idoc adapter, by using idoc we can trace the idoc status easily by using SAP standard transactions.

As indrajit said if large amount of records needs to syndicate from SAP to other systems via XI, we will go for proxy only.And whats proxy will do?? in ECC system we will write ABAP code in SPROXY transaction, by using queries we will select data from ECC and by using methods we will pass the values to XI (as XI data type structure and SAP table structure should be same).

So we will use proxy to connect and send data from SAP ECC to XI system with out sender communication channel.Performance will be more if we use proxy.

Hope this information is helpful.