Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HCM - who to do the data transfer ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am new to TDMS.

I would like to ask the community on what is the usual or best practice in who should be doing or executing

the data transfer from PROD to a receiver system involving HR data, which is typically sensitive.

Should it be HR business owner or IT ? The dilemma is that HR is typically intimidated with the steps and the

tool (TDMS).  For IT, my impression is that the IT must be granted with the necessary HR (PA/PD/PY) authorizations

first, and in most organization, IT do not (and should not) have access to PROD data.

Hence, if HR is to run it, the tool is probably not user friendly enough. If IT is to run it, is it possible

not to grant the IT any HR authorization (on the sender), and yet, IT able to select and run the data transfer ?

Thank you and regards,

Kir Chern

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos
Hello Kir Chern,
  • You cannot transfer HCM data without having HR related authorizations. So the IT guy cannot transfer data without the specific HR authorizations.
  • A communication user in the RFC should be maintained for the TDMS HCM transfer.
  • Let the IT guy run all the activities apart from selection.
  • Ask the IT guy to set the switch SND_LOGON as 'X'. SND_LOGON is a technical switch which impacts selection and transfer. If the production system and the TDMS (control) system have different RFC destinations and if you set this switch to X, the Identify Objects for Data
    Selection activity initiates an explicit logon to the production system where the HR guy can do the data selection and data transfer.
  • Then the HCM guy can run selection activity only and the IT guy can execute rest of the steps.

However, it is recommended that the IT guy creates the package settings and the HR guy does the actual data selection and data transfer.
Best Regards,
Farheen.

Answers (1)