cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XML Rowset Action Not Adding To Document

dan_kellackey
Explorer
0 Kudos

I am just beginning to experiment with building XML documents in a transaction.  My motivation is to retrieve SAP schedule data from a custom transaction that I do not have access to by other means.  So I build a test transaction in the workbench to call the SAP function.  The function returns several tables, and I want to save it to an XML document.  So, I use the XML Document action, create the columns in that step, and can map data from function to the document.

Where I am floundering is that I want to create multiple rowsets within the document, organizing the data seperately instead of throwing all the columns together in a single rowset.  I expected to use the Rowset action to add another rowset to the existing document, but it does not.  If I try to add a column to the rowset I added, it is not visible, and cannot be added there.  I have played around on where in the XML document to add the rowset, Output is the only place I do not get an error.  If I try to add the column to the Rowset in the link editor, it also throws an error.  Why can I not see the rowset added to my document in the link editor.  I see and empty <rowset /> element in the XML output, so I know it is being added, I just cannot figure out how to add columns to it.

Am I misunderstanding what a rowset is?  I cannot find any example transactions from other developers in our company, nor on the web.

Regards,

Dan K

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

dan_kellackey
Explorer
0 Kudos

Great comments, thank you all.