cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rest API V2 - Create new entry in MX_PERSON

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to working with the Rest API for IdM and I've been trying to find an answer for the following question, but unfortunately didn't find it yet. If I just missed this somewhere, please apologize (and maybe give me a hint where I can find it)

As a developer, I'm requested to write a custom UI for SAP IdM using the Rest API V2 and I should be able to create new entries in MX_PERSON (new employees). A corresponding task is available (as UI Task), which creates a new entry (pending for approval). I only know the task guid and the required attributes.

However, I was not able to figure out, how I access this task using the Rest API, i.e., how to write the corresponding POST request (reading & editing entries works fine). I assume I must be able to access the task by .../idmrestapi/v2/service/ET_MX_PERSON(ID=...,TASK_GUID=<guid of the task which creates a new user>) somehow, but I don't have an ID of the new entry (as it is created after successfully accessing the task), so I tried posting to it without the ID which does not work.

Did I missunderstood something? Or how can I access the task, which should take some (mandatory) attributes such as name,... and then create a new user (=create a new entry in MX_PERSON)?

Thanks in advance,

Dominique

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

normann
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hello Dominique,

In the old version (up to SP7) you just called (POST) the create task for entry 0. Nice examples in documentation https://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-26747.

With the new version (SP8) it is not supported to create an entry yet - at least it is not documented and I would not know how to either -> CSN Message.

Regards

Norman

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Norman,

Thanks a lot for your answer.

(Unfortunately) we're having SP8 installed...

Kind regards,

Dominique

normann
Advisor