cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hana server management best practices

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to SAP Hana DB and am doing maintenance of its server as well as using predictive analysis over the existing data. However, so far the database has been frustrating to use as the machine on which the database was installed repeatedly ran out of space and started throwing errors on querying:

SAP DBTech JDBC: [3584]: distributed SQL error: [9] Memory allocation failed (com.sap.db.jdbc.exceptions.JDBCDriverException: SAP DBTech JDBC: [3584]: distributed SQL error: [9] Memory allocation failed)

I had stopped the tracefile collection and removed the old contents from the log folder which solved this problem. This worked fine for few days but today I received another baffling error:

Could not execute '<MY QUERY>' in 28.080 seconds . SAP DBTech JDBC: [2048]: column store error: search table error:  [9] Memory allocation failed

Also, the tracefiles and log files are continuously getting backed up (unless stopped explicitly) and I had deleted these backups last time. Is there some elegant mechanism to specify the backup strategy to remove old backups continually?

This is a live server where data is increasing continuously, but not at this velocity, which is consuming multiple GBs of data in few weeks.

The system statistics are fine where the memory and disk space is still showing underutilized resources, however I may be wrong here. Is there any other way of managing the server apart from changing the configuration ini for different services within the hana studio.

Thanks,

sumit

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

There are a whole load of red flags in your post.

- You show an 80GB instance and say it is productive. There is no 80GB supported HANA System so this must be unsupported hardware.