cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DBACOCKPIT MS SQL - Database is not yet configured for monitoring (Unknown MSSQL version)

marie_renneke
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi experts,

I'm new to SAP on MS SQL but usually pretty familiar with DBACOCKPIT. But I can't find the reason for the error messages I'm receiving in our only hosted SAP on MSSQL. Every option in DBACOCKPIT is greyed out and you can't configure anything but the connection, which is working without any problems.

So DBACOCKPIT is not usable - as you open it you see the error "Database is not yet configured for monitoring" and in the content area you see the message text "Unspecified error occured in GET_RAT_VERSION(2)" . If you then go to System Configuration and display the configured system you get the error message "Unknown MSSQL version" without any further details. Though it's showing the correct MS SQL version that is installed. In the Administration Data tab of DEV and QAS Collect History Data isn't switched on but in PRD it is and there it's not working either.

I've attached some screenshots (servername blured).

Database Release: 10.50.2769

SAP ECC 6.0 without Enhancement Packages

Unfortunately we got the systems with a pretty old SP level (Basis 13, Aba 11) which I fear might cause this problem but I'm not sure for I couldn't find any notes or the like that might fix that issue. And I can't explain a total SP update with just wanting to get DBACOCKPIT working - though I'd really like to.

I've already worked through the common DBACOCKPIT with MSSQL manuals/documentation and searched for notes (like 1086375 and 1027512), even implemented note 1260665 (though it's not really describing the exact issue)  - but I couldn't solve it or find the reason for this.

I haven't found any document guiding through a basic configuration of DBACOCKPIT for MS SQL - either it's just about using this transaction or about configuring external monitoring for MS SQL - doesn't really help.