cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Oracle to SAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to SAP. We have NetWeaver in our company and I have been asked to establish a connection to SAP from our Oracle database. We need to extract data from SAP into Oracle to do some reporting.

I am familiar with using Oracle's DG4ODBC and I have been struggling to find articles if I can use this.

Has anybody achieved this or any advice as to how to achieve this?

EA

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

scott_stefanich
Active Participant
0 Kudos

The following approaches do not require SAP NetWeaver Gateway, but two options are:

1. ABAP Database Connection (ADBC)

- Create an Oracle DB Connection via transaction DBACOCKPIT -> DB Connections.

- In ABAP, establish a database connection, send SQL to the database, and handle the results.

Native SQL can be used or a dynamic equivalent as demonstrated in this SAP example.

One of Thomas Jung's many incredible blogs is ABAP/HANA Connectivity via Secondary Database Connection. While the topic is in the context of SAP HANA, the blog includes specific examples of creating a database connection, then using it in Open SQL, Native SQL, or ADBC via Native SQL.

2. Remote Function Call (RFC)

- Create a RFC-enabled SAP Function Module

- Call the RFC (or a web service for the RFC) in an application which updates the Oracle database.

A third option may be "SAP HANA": If a question includes the word "Oracle", the answer is very likely "SAP HANA"

--- Scott

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi !

You can add something in tnsnames of sap server:

ORABASE.WORLD =

(DESCRIPTION =

(ADDRESS_LIST =

(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = orahost.mycompany.local)(PORT = 1521))

)

(CONNECT_DATA =

(SERVER = DEDICATED)

(SID = ORABASE)

(GLOBAL_NAME = ORABASE)

)

)

And use transaction DBCO to call this database from SAP. Also you may need an extended OCL drivers as part of sap kernel.