Did you mean: 

DMS Lock and Unlock status

former_member1026401
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Team,

I am new to DMS.

Requirement:

We are attaching a file (excel, word, pdf) in a DMS document (through transaction code CV01N) and clicking on the icon "Check in original" & saving it (this makes the file to get stored in content server)

because of this activity , now the system locks the attached file. (Lock symbol present under tab/column "store in secured area") 

but my client wants the file to be in unlocked status while the file is saved in Content server (when document is in created status). The file needs to go to locked status after release only.

Reason for requirement:

When the file is in unlock status (when saved in content server) any other person (Other than the person one who created it) should be able to edit the same document without getting into next version (01).

Is there is any configuration or development needed to make the attached file on the content server in unlocked status and during release it can go to locked status? please refer to the below screenshot for the lock symbol which we are referring to.

P.S:

File lock and unlock status control can be achieved in document type configuration, when file is stored in desktop/workstation.

but our requirement is to lock the file when it is set to release status when the attached file in the content server.

Regards

Srikaanth

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member585060
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

You can not attach a file with unlock status for a Document, what you can do is, you can ask the user to again right click on the attached file(In your screen shot under Originals section under Appl "DOC") and click on Edit, in the pop up click F4 on the Data Carrier and select Default, now the attached file will open and you can do the changes, when clicked on save it will capture the updated values.

Thanks & Regards

Bala Krishna

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

MangeshP