cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between SLD and SAP AS Java in NWDS

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am new to SAP  and currently am using NWDS 7.3 in my project for developing applications.

Can anyone please give the difference between SLD and SAP AS JAVA used in NWDS?

Thanks,

Murali Krishnan.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Murali,

Basically SLD and SAP AS JAVA are two different things. SLD is the System Landscape Directory which holds all system, product and software component information of all systems involved in a technical landscape. SLD can be installed as part of SAP Process Integration for example or independently.

SAP AS Java is the Web Application Server Java. This is basically the technical basis for all Java-based SAP products, for example SAP Process Orchestration, SAP NWDI.

NWDS in the end is only the frontend for developing on SAP PI, SAP BPM together with NWDI.

Does this answer your question? If not please let me know.

Best Regards

Harald

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

ErvinSzolke
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hi Murali,

that settings in NWDS has actually difference from that point of view whether you want to do direct deployments (AS JAVA) or you want to do Team Development via Tracks and do central build, central deployment, etc (I mean the SLD setting inside window -- preferences -- Development Infrastructure -- System Landscape Directory).

Further, SLD is important because here is where the Software Catalog is held. This is where you start your development by creating your product.

SLD also important from Name Reservation point of view as it can act like a name server to ensure no naming conflict occur when you say create a new DC name in your NWDS.

Best Regards,

Ervin

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to NWDS

Can you please tell me what is the difference between direct deployment, Central build and deployment?