Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Expert Forums flooded by newbie questions

Rudi_Wiesmayr
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello moderators, if any!

The SDN forums are flooded by questions of obviously total newbies.

And they usually post their questions in wrong forums,

e.g. Windows when asking ORA questions.

It becomes more and more difficult to filter out the really interesting topics.

Which are: Experts have to answer questions which cannot be answered by reading the long text of the message posted in the question.

What can be done? Or is it already out of control?

Kind regards,

Rudi

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Rudolf,

If some questions are posted in wrong forum, it should not matter, as we normally respond to the answers / suggestion known to us. I am sure that many of our forum members have multi module knowledge & they do respond to such questions. The solution provided if reffered by us can be a learning for us.

Regards,

Rajesh Banka

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Rudolf,

I share your pain. I read over the questions in the ABAP development area and it is flooded with people asking for code handouts without any specific problem/issue and basic questions that could be answered easily if they bothered to read SAP help. Also many people seem to reply without even reading the question by cutting and pasting answers blindly. When a person actually uses the forum to look for an answer they need to wade through pages of junk.

I understand it is difficult to control/moderate such posts. The rules of engagement do ask people to search first, but it seems people are too lazy.

Rudi_Wiesmayr
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Another possibility would be to raise the hurdle to come into SDN.

Restricting to S-Users (and higher of course) may be a little too high...

What do you think?

Rudi

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Rudolf,