Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAA agents in Distributed Installation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

Let me brief about our environment.

We installed our ABAP and Java systems as distributed installations with virtual host names in one Virtual machine( one IP address ).

scs<sid>

db<sid>

ci<sid>

These virtual host names are registered in DNS server.

Please clarify.

1)  I am new to Solution Manager configuration not sure about how to install SMD agents. Do I have to install three SMD agents for each virtual host name

or

One SMD agent is enough for whole machine.

2) One of the Solman consultants told me that, each virtual host name must have one SMD agent and one IP address.

So in One ABAP system, I have 4 SMD agents , one is for SCS, one is for DB, one is for CI and one is for physcial host ( O.S ).

Is it so ?

3) He also suggested that I can use on-the-fly feature, so one SMD agent is enough for all virtual host names and O.S.

Please guide me.

With Thanks and Regards,

venkat

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Vivek_Hegde
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi venkat,

On-the-Fly feature is suitable in cases where you have Physical or Virtual hostes running large number of Logical Hosts.

Please refer to the Attachment in the following note. There is a very detailed ppt with a all options and startegies. This should aswer all your quries.

Note 1365123 - Installation of Diagnostics Agents

Regards,

Vivek

bxiv
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

To add on to @Vivek's comment, On-the-Fly diag will require that you at least be running SP05 on your SolMan 7.1 system...that is the bare minimum and I recall having some odd issues with On-the-Fly in SP05, if you have to upgrade shoot for SP08.