cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Impact and Lineage Analysis setup for a dwh

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

My department is responsible for reporting on risk on various levels (portfolio's, industries, countries).

For this we collect on daily/weekly/monthly basis

1. data (csv) on outstanding amounts  for all loans/facilities from all our offices,
  2. data (xml) on customer data, incl risk rating
  3. data (xml) on reference data, like countries, statusses, risk-levels, etc.
  4. market data (fx, interests, equity listing info)
  5. country risk data (csv)

As an info architect I'm responsible for maintaining datamodels around these data.

For a more efficient overview in case of issues we also like to achieve the Impact and Lineage possibilities.

I already made 5 conceptual models for each of these representing there initiatial loaded formats,plus one

for the datawarehouse where all is collected and cleansed, linking to the entities in the 5  loaded-file models.

So far so good.

I could continue making some new models for an extended datawarehouse and finally for the datamarts. Point is

that this collection of cdm's finally will not help me achieve the following:

• I want to move to LDM to help my  clients (analysts) find back their FK-columns (and to enable me to
    add additional info on those relationships) and to introduce extra columns for keying and history mechanism.
  • I want to insert the processes  that glue these models together (merely as stepping stones to  documentation outside PD)
  • I want to be able to do a any  impact and Lineage Analysis

I stumbled upon a video demo on an airline ticket example which made it sound rather simple.But I am currently stuck with the

following questions: