cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to copy SQL objects (tables, views & procedures) from one schema to another schema in the HANA same server?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I need to dynamically provision Schema/Catalog, load data, analyze data, generate reports and drop the catalogs/schema from the server. 

I got a schema called "MasterCatalog" having 10 tables (most of them are empty), 3 views and 10 stored procedures. 

Now I want to copy the tables and procedures from MasterCatalog to newly created (empty) schema problematically.

First I create an empty schema using "CREATE SCHEMA" statement. Then copy the objects from master catalog to newly created schema.

For that, I tried Export & Import SQL commands. Using export command, i tried to export SQL objects onto a local server folder then tried to import the objects into newly created schema.

But it is trying to import SQL objects into the same source schema. There is no provision to specify the target schema on Import statement.

Any idea how to copy objects from one schema to another schema on the same server?

Regards,

TK

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi there!

As of SPS 6 the IMPORT command allows for changing the target schema name(s):

Syntax

IMPORT <object_name_list> FROM <path> [WITH <import_option_list>] [AT [LOCATION] <indexserver_host_port>]

WITH <import_option_list>

<import_option_list> ::= <import_option> [{, <import_option>}]

<import_option> ::= REPLACE | CATALOG ONLY | DATA ONLY |  NO DEPENDENCIES | THREADS <number_of_threads> | RENAME SCHEMA <rename_schema_list>

RENAME SCHEMA <rename_schema_list> <rename_schema_list> ::= <rename_schema_token> [{, <rename_schema_list>}] <rename_schema_token> ::= <source_schema> TO <target_schema>