cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Carrier choices with SAP HANA

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi friends,

i currently work as a pl/sql developer in an mnc from past 2 years and this is my first job. i want to become a part of the SAP family. After some discussion and suggestion with my friends i came to know about SAP HANA. i am totally confused with carrier choices from variety of SAP products i think i can work on based on my current experience.

so the question is what path should i chose further following are some options that i have in mind from suggestions by friends and after searching on net.

1> get certified on PL/SQL then go for SAP BO/SAP BI/SAP HANA.

2>go for direct SAP HANA certification.

do i need to do pl/sql certification for any of this and which one should i go for from these if doing more than 1 or all of these certifications in coming some years time one by one  what should be my path like starting from which should i go forward and then next certification out of above and next so on. if their is any other great option to enhance my carrier please do suggest.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Prasanna,

SAP HANA is much more than a DB. So the direct certification of SAP HANA might be a difficult option.

Also SQL is integral part of SAP HANA but it uses an extended SQL known as SQLScript. So I am not sure whether the just PL/SQL certification will help with BO/BI (here certainly it will not help) or even HANA (might help to some extent).

In plain language BO is a set of graphical tools used to get data out of different data sources. BI is also a tool of the same sort, but this is integrated powerfully with SAP R/3 and enhancements are done using ABAP code(Not PL/SQL ).