cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

learning more about ABAP from home

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a ABAP developer and I was recently let go by my company due to a merger with another company. while I am looking for another job, I would like to continue to work on ABAP so that I could get more fimilar with it. I would like to learn more about abap objects and object programming. 

I hear there is a SAP system that you can get to install on your home PC that will let you do development.

is this something that I could download or is there someplace that I need to go to get a copy of this software?

will this software let me do things like workflow and smartforms?

thanks in advance for the help

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I found and downloaded a free version of SAPGUI 7.30 PL2 from SAP IGNITE.

I used the  SAP front end installation guide and I found the section 4.1.2 installing components locally from a distribution Medium which states that this procedure installs SAP front-end software components on a single computer from a distribution medium such as a DVD. I did the install and selected everything to install.

I signed onto the various clients listed below and I am getting a authorization error when trying to run the program ZUSEREXITS using SE38. the authorization object is S_DEVELOP which makes me think that I do not have authorization the develop or run anything.

ERP E62:
Client 300: Not to use at all - it is needed for internal purpose only
Client 400: Customizing, but overwritten frequently at any issue
Client 500: Customizing, but planned to be longterm (Except "nobody" can work at all)
Client 800: Demo/Education: This client typically gets "never" overwritten, but you can only post docuements and cannot do your own customizing. This client is perfect for your training, when you want to post and put some data into the system

ERP E66: