Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consuming a web service using a username token

jan_dahl
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello,

I've to change an existing ws proxy to send a username token to meet our increased security needs.

Therefore

- I changed the the proxy configuration in the IDE from none to basic

- I configured a username and password and switched on  "User ID / Password" Authentication in logical port's consumer security - authentication settings

But nothing changed in my SOAP header. No security tags appear.

I tried to follow the instructions here

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw70ehp1/helpdata/en/f7/993240713be801e10000000a155106/content.htm?frame...

but failed because I've never seen any "Visual Administrator". I'm a developer, our Administrators are on holydays. Please help, it's urgent.

Thanks for any help,

Jan

We are running NW 7.0 EHP1

5 REPLIES 5

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Jan,

please check the documentation for the visual admin tool at help.sap.com.

●  On UNIX platforms, enter on the command line /usr/sap/<SAPSID>/<Instance_Name>/j2ee/admin/go.sh

●  On Windows platforms, run <Drive>:\usr\sap\<SAPSID>\<Instance_Name>\j2ee\admin\go.bat

However you need os level access to the systems.

Regards,

Patrick

0 Kudos

Hey Patrick,

my linux path is ending after /usr/sap/<SAPSID>/<Instance_Name>/. There is no j2ee folder at our system. Might it be, we are missing Java at all?

How can I check this? And how can I make sure that it is absolutely needed for the username token? I guess our Basis team will kick me out if I ask them to install AS Java for this feature.

Cheers Jan

0 Kudos

Hi Jan,