cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does one decide whether to create one complex universe or multiple/simpler universes?

cgwaters
Participant
0 Kudos

I'm still somewhat new to SAP universes and to the Information Design Tool.

My data sources are SQL Server databases and SAP R/3 tables.

To create my reports I'm using Web Intelligence. The data source for reports created in Web Intelligence can come from multiple universes.

In designing a data foundation and business layer, how does one decide whether to create one universe (say, a multisource data foundation, with connections to SQL Server and to SAP, including tables from both connections) or to create multiple universes? What are the advantages of one approach over the other?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Chris,

In addition to what Mani said, you can create any number of business layers over one data foundation, so if you can target and get the multi-source enabled data foundation which combines SQL and SAP then You can decide on whether to project one business layer out of data foundation or multiple depending on business needs.

Thanks

Mallik

cgwaters
Participant
0 Kudos

Thank you for the information, Mani and Mallik. I'm using one complex, multisource universe but am having difficulty joining tables between these multiple sources so as to obtain the desired results in Web Intelligence. Hence my question as to the advantages/disadvantages of using one complex universe compared to using multiple simpler universes.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Chris,

Can you elaborate what is the challenge you have in Joining tables between the two sources at Data foundation layer?

Are you similar approach as listed in below document to build multi source universe?

http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-38685