cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business Objects 4.0 SP6 Version management error

Former Member
0 Kudos

I recently installed Business Objects 4.0 SP6 and everything seems to be running fine except Promotion management and Version management. When I log onto the CMC and go to Promotion management the following error shows up:

Sorry, Promotion management application is unable to process your request.: Please check you have sufficient rights to perform this operations.

All the servers are up and running and when I go to the CMC / Applications / Version Management settings / Test VMS / I get a successful response.

Any ideas why this feature is not working or how I need to configure?

Anthony

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

So I finally resolved the issue with SAP Technical support. The issue came down to security and access. Although I was a local admin on the server my access was still limited so I had to get the appropriate Administrator level access to install the application correctly.

Outcome: Make sure you have administrator level rights (same as whomever installed the OS) in order to do the install correctly.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Anthony,

Did you happen to re-install the PM & VM applications only or you had to re-install the complete BI4.0 Platform again with the renewed Administrator level access?

I am faced with the exact same issue, though I am not sure what access am I missing in here.

Please let me know.

Thanks & Rgds,

Sree

Former Member
0 Kudos

Sree, I had to re-install the entire application with the renewed Administrator level access. At this current company there are various levels of administrator access, which I was not aware of. Essentially to do the correct install you need to have the same access rights as the Admin that installed the operating system.

Anthony

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos