Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Live Cache 7.9 : Data cache Usage 100% even when system not used

Farid
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello,

We are running SAP SCM 7.03/Oracle 11.2 plugged to a Livecache system (MaxDB 7 .9), the hardware is HP-UX ia64.

I am quite new to MaxDB technology.

We have received several complaints over the past weeks, over MaxDB performances.

It turns out that one of the main issue we had was Data cache Usage 100%

So I have increased the value of CacheMemorySize parameter several times, from 32000 to 64000 to 128000

But after a while, the datacache usage hits 100 %, even when there are no users connected, no datalaods from SCM, absolutely no activity,

And the datache usage remains at 100%

Now the current value is : 256000, but I am afraid that it is only a matter of time, before it hist again 100% for no apparent reasons.

I have checked SAP notes database to try to find any guidance, recommendation on the optimal size

of CacheMemorySize , there are several FAQ, several notes detailing database parameters, but I could not find

anything about CacheMemorySize recommended settings

Any help in understanding why the data cache usage remains at 100% even when there is no activity would be really helpful.

Also any recommendation on CacheMemorySize setting would be really appreciated.

Thank you

Best regards

Raoul

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Raoul,         

liveCache version 7.9 loads the OMS data impictely after restart into the data cache . So you'll see in the DB-Analyzer expert analysis -> Data Cache Usage file that the Data cache is immediately filled up. The column DC_usage tells you the percentage value of the datacache filling level. If all data is filled into the DC and the Usage in percent is lower than 100% - all OMS data can be loaded into the Cache and you have additional free space for SQL data.

The reload mechanism stops when: