cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Mobile Hybrid web container app

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear All,

I am working on an app, The Idea is to scan QR or bar code to get the product related information from the SAP back-end system then initialize (write some information ) on the NFC tag using the same application.

My questions and doubts are:-

1) Which approach would be best;

a) Develop the data model in SAP system using the SAP net-weaver gateway and then consume the generated Odata service

or

b) Conventional approach of using BAPI's to create MBO in SUP aka SAP Mobile Platform and then with the help of workflow form editor create the hybrid web container app???

2) can I use QR code and NFC tag API or functionality with Hybrid web container app on android and if yes how?

at present I have SUP 2.1.3 but I am welling to upgrade if required.

I am new to HTML5 or any kind of coding so any inputs or guidance in the right direction would be really appreciated.

Thanks & Regards,

Nitin Jain

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

jerome_lim
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

Don't know why you need SUP, I think it only make sense to use SUP if you have more than 500 devices to install the app and you need offline scenario.

The project we've done is using NW GW and which consume oData with JS. there're many how to documents in scn.

Also, there're many QRCode js API can be used, you shall be able to find one in the latest version of phonegap.

kind regards

Jerome

midhun_vp
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Jerome,

SUP is not meant only for more devices and offline scenario. It is a middle-ware that gives a lot advantage over other ways of device communication with the back-end DB. Few are given below:

Reliable communication between devices and the server runtime to support guaranteed

delivery of and offline access to data and transactions, without imposing any developer or

management requirements.