Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on regulatory content provider and expert server

sruthi_srinivasan
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to SAP EHS.

1. I would like to understand if a third party regulatory content provider is mandatory to load all the specification properties as regards Product Safety?

2. Also, what is the function of the EH&S Expert server and how is it configured?

Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

christoph_bergemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Sruthi,

regarding 1.) A content provider provide EHS content like OEL values. The load of the data is done by the company (or the consultant working at that company) and normally not by the company which provides the content (but some content provider does offer such a service): the use of a content provider is not "mandatory" but "recommended"; you could maintain the data yourself but regarding product safety issues this is not a good option

regarding 2.) There is an OSS note available regarding "recent version of EHS expert" server. The SAP online help is providing some additional informations; I am not aware of a "cookbook" to make the installation happen but some "installation" routing help docu is available if you download the tool (according to my information)

In any case: this tools can help a chemcial company to "calculate" so called "secondary data" with "high" speed. The content provider deliver expert rules as well; if you install only the server then you wil get an "empty" system without a "use", the set up of rules can be "painful" (without in experience in doing so) like to edit etc. a WWI layout.

Regarding Expert Server: may be check as a start:

http://help.sap.com/erp2005_ehp_06/helpdata/en/b5/3bd1369f2d280ee10000009b38f889/content.htm?framese...

Chapter: EH&S Expert

C.B.

PS: some content provider is providing the content using OCC. PLase check here: