cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference Between Hybrid app and Native app

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I'm new to SAP Mobility, and I have just started exploring about it. I know you can develop apps in different ways using SUP. Now I read at many places that Hybrid App's cannot be a complete offline App at the same time it is stated that they can do synchronization by storing events in a queue.

Can some one tell me what this means? What is a complete offline app? why cant it be build as a Hybrid app?

Thanks and Regards,

Pratheek

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hi Pratheek,

you can use a Offline App without a connection to the internet. So this means that you have to load (e.g. if you have a connection) and store your data on the device.

As the name "Online App" says, this kind of app needs a connection to the internet.

A Hybrid App is limited in using the device hardware. So, it is also limited in storing your data on the device, which is needed for an complete offline szenario.

Regards,

Maximilian

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Thanks a Lot for your reply. So does that mean that I should not use Hybrid App if its an offline scenario?

I have another doubt, is data stored in SUP's cache or Device Memory? If it can be stored in Device Memory why do we need SUP CDB???

Sorry If the question is silly, Im trying to learn this but currently I dont have a system access, so its a bit difficult to understand these things.

Regards,

Pratheek

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Pratheek,

Hybrid application is not for offline scenario.