Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odata Services with Complex Types

former_member220853
Participant
0 Kudos

Dear All

We have a requirement to create an OData Services with complex type . Structure of this type is as follows

Zparent (Structure name)

| name- String

|--------|  Table of ZChild (Structure name)

|-------- name- string

|---------value- String

Has anyone tried it and if yes what are the basic fundamental steps to accomplish it

I am a newbie therefore need some guidance

Points will be rewarded

Thanks in advance

Gaurav

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184867
Active Contributor

Hi Gaurav,

Complex Type is not the right technique to represent a parent child relationship of cardinality 1:N. A complex type inside an Entity works a group of individual properties. This is useful when you want to reuse same group in many Entities(or in Action). For example, consider a service with entity Customer and Invoice. Entity Customer has properties a) HomeAddress b)OfficeAddress  , entity Invoice has property ShippingAdress. So technically all three properties are of complex type Address . Moreover complex type is nothing but a structure, so it can not hold multiple values. 

Now to address your requirement, you have to create Parent and Child entities separately. Then you have to create association between them where you can put your desired cardinality(here may be 1:N). Next you have to create a navigation property for the parent using this association. Hope this is helpful.

regards,

Atanu

former_member220853
Participant
0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply

I have few more questions , even though I am able to define the association and create a cardinality of 1 for parent and 1..n for child .

Do I necessarily need to create Entity Sets as well?

If yes , then how do I use the association defined earlier

Do we need to define any referential integrity constraints etc  as well?

jibin_joy
Contributor
0 Kudos