cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kernel and Support Package Stack for SolMan 701

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I was wondering if someone could tell me what/how I can get the latest for both the above and what I should do to apply them. I have done my first test install for Solution Manager and would like to complete the post install steps.

There seems to be some much information which has sort of confused me. Understandably because I am new to this . The main confusion I have is regarding what to download first of all. And then if there is a set procedure of how to go about applying it.

All help highly appreciated.

Manish

This is what

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Manish,

agreeing to Francois I would advise you to install Solman 7.1.

(and trial and error is not a good plan if you like to install any SAP systems - read carefully all the documentation from http://service.sap.com/solutionmanager)

And after finishing that setup install the latest 7.20 or 7.20EXT kernel files.

The current Kernel is visible in the SAP Gui - System - Status - 3. button (popup bottom) shows the actual kernel details.

After finishing you might be able to use MOPZ to get all the needed files.

kind regards

Thomas Uhl

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Sorry its taken a while to come back.

For now I am going with the installed SolMan and am trying to upgrade the kernel first of all. In doing so I am a little confused about what I should download and extract. I have read notes 1713986, 1636252 and 1629598. In one of these notes it talks about downloading the kernel files from the below location:

http://service.sap.com/patches -> "Browse Our Download Catalog"-> Additional Components -> SAP Kernel -> SAP KERNEL 64-BIT (UNICODE) -> SAP KERNEL 7.20 (EXT) 64-BIT (UNICODE) -> <your

platform> -> ORACLE.