Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gamification is now live on SCN!

former_member181931
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

I'm part of the SCN team and I've been working on gamifying SCN for the last 12 months. It's been an exciting project, at times challenging, but always worth the hard work! I look forward to hearing from you now that we're live. Do you like it?

Best,

Laure

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (17)

Answers (17)

0 Kudos

good job guys..keep it up. big thumbs up

Johan_H
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

For those of us, who are not afraid to have a little laugh at our own expense: Dilbert on gamification.

cientistaflavio
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello, Laure! Nice to meet you!

At the 'Coffee Corner' http://scn.sap.com/thread/3350684, on

Laure Cetin wrote:

I think it is sad to see people write comments and blogs with no real valuable content, just to get badges or points. It has always been difficult to manage this.

You've just said exactly what I've been thinking about since yesterday, when I began to accumulate these points.

I really welcome SCN Gamification, since its points, badges and level icons remind me about the colored belt system adopted in most martial arts (belts used to be only black or white, and the colored ones were introduced to encourage continued training and to give some early rewards during a lifelong journey). Just like the colored belt system, SCN Gamification created a whole new level of encouragement for the community to participate and contribute.

Unfortunately, this encouragement have some drawbacks. Some people instantly become more concerned about their points than about contributing  to the SCN. In the last few hours, while exploring some pages of the  SCN, I have stumbled upon a couple of blog posts that were, in my opinion, meaningless to the SCN. After reading them  and realizing that they were posted only  for the points, I felt like I've just wasted my time.