cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on NWDI, ESS, MSS

Former Member
0 Kudos

<b>Background:</b>

We have a new Project on EP (ESS, MSS & NWDI/JDI). I have worked on WebDynPro DCs(Development Components) & NWDI. But, I'm new to ESS & MSS.

<b>Scenario + Our plan</b>:

We are using NetWeaver 2004 (not 2004s) and we are required to <b>customize existing objects</b> of ESS & MSS and then <b>add our new implementation of WebDynPro objects</b> to this.

What we propose to do is to

a. Import the ESS & MSS sca files into the<b> same track(SINGLE TRACK)</b> of NWDI-CMS.

b. Then import this development configuration to our NWDS(developer studio)

c. Modify the existing code + create new webdynpro objects

d. After code change->checkin->activate->release->Generate SCA file

( containing both the <b>Customized</b> and <b>New WebDynPro</b> <b>implementation objects</b>)

<b>Queries</b>:

1. Is the above mentioned plan a right approach? Since, our project is about customizing existing code & adding new webdynpro objects to both ESS & MSS, we have imported both the ESS-MSS packages on to a <b>SINGLE TRACK</b> of NWDI?

Can we use a single track or should we use two seperate tracks - One for CSS & One for MSS.

2. I am told that some ESS MSS packages are still not migrated to WebDynPro, and there might be the traditional MVC<b>/Java code</b> in it. Is this true?

3. If it is <b>true</b>, can we modify->checkin->Activate->Release the <b>JAVA</b> code, just as we modify the WebDynPro DCs? I am told that NWDI (DTR/CMS/CBS) does not support JAVA projects. Is this true? If <b>true</b>, with some of the ESS /MSS being non-webdynpro JAVA objects, will NetWeaver 2004 NWDI support these Java objects in the ESS-MSS packages?

4. This question is an add-on question to QUESTION 2.

Since, I have not worked or seen the ESS-MSS Packages, I do not know what to expect?

In NWDS (NetWeaver Developer Studio), I am aware of 3 main projects that i can create