cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

zip uploaded documents from user

Former Member
0 Kudos

We have some documents that the user occasionally uploads to a quotation in ISA for individual line items. I need to take these documents, zip them to save memory and pass them along to a 3rd party document management system.

Does anyone know if there is any functionality in either the Java side of ISA or R/3 (or CRM) to zip files? I've looked for function modules on the R/3 - CRM side and haven't found anything. I'm new to Java and ISA and I am not very familiar with what is available there.

Thanks,

Brent

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Brent,

I've had to deal with plenty ZIP stuff on the SAP Portal but my requirements where a little different (BUT I hope it helps you somehow...)...you see suppliers uploading data into our SAP system often had slow lines and connection timeouts would occur etc. So what I did was I allowed them to ZIP their Excel files etc on their side and then upload them via the Portal...thereafter I would unzip them in code and pump them into SAP...here is some sample code to show you the libraries I used...may help you...

import java.io.File;

import java.io.IOException;

import java.io.InputStream;

import java.util.Enumeration;

import java.util.zip.ZipFile;

import java.util.zip.ZipEntry;

import java.util.zip.ZipException;

public InputStream unzip(File file) throws ZipperException{

ZipFile zf = new ZipFile(file);

Enumeration e = zf.entries();

ZipEntry ze = (ZipEntry)e.nextElement();

return zf.getInputStream(ze);

}

So what you can do is once you get the file on the server side you can use the objects in the "java.util.zip.*" package to zip the file and then use some "file manipulating" objects to then move this zip file to another directory etc on the document management systm side.