cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to HANA ?

nishant_ranjan
Explorer
0 Kudos

I am very new to HANA. I do not have any experience in eclipse as well. I am working as a developer and have written some legal reports in ABAP.

We have requirement to move some of these reports those are having performance issues, to HANA. These reports read documents posted for whole year, and do some analysis and give output in text format, which goes to legal authorities. It also displays data in ALV outputs.  It takes 2-3 days to run these reports.

As a starting point, i have installed HANA studio in my machine. Could you please guide me from where i should start?   Is there any study material which will help me in re-writing the codes to use HANA? How ABAP in eclipse could be used?I do not have to use analytic features of HANA. JUst need some study materials to write HANA related codes in ABAP to query existing tables in R/3 systems.

Questions written above could be naive but It will be really helpful if you could guide me for above queries.

Thanks,

Nishant

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Nishant,

Replacing ABAP reports (or pretty much any current IT solution) with a HANA-based solution is non-trivial. As you've never worked with HANA (or Eclipse, but that's less of an issue), you have a steep learning curve ahead of you.

In a majority of cases, the approach you DON'T want to take is just to redirect queries to HANA from from your current DB in your ABAP (or any other language) code. You need to consider the logic of the application and how it can be re-engineered to gain the best performance benefit from HANA.