cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HANA and BODS

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Just I started learning HANA and as new to this area having some doubts. I need your help to understand the technology in better way.

While I gone through sap documents on HANA, what I understood is BODS is acting as interface between Datasource (Excel/ECC/ BI/Non-SAP) and HANA to load data. Here I would like know, is it the only way to load data into HANA through BODS if so what level of knowledge needed on BODS?

I am into BOBJ area (CR, WebI, Universe) so how HANA helps to me to become strong in data analytic area.

Appreciate your inputs and help.

Thanks,

IanB

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

rama_shankar3
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Ian,

SAP  HANA in simple words is a backend BI schema or DB or multi-dimensional modelling plaftorm similar to SAP BW or Microsoft MSAS. Since you are from a front-end backgroun, you can leverage the direct connectivity options provided for HANA in such a way that you can create high performance reports and analytics application using BO tool.

If you are interested in learing the backend SAP HANA modelling (designing and building attribute views, analytical views and calculation views), you will have to go through formal training or try building it yourself using few samples provided by SAP.

Hope this adds to the above points provided by other peers.

Good luck learning HANA and feel free to ask more questions in specific areas. You are in the right place to learn HANA!

Rama

former_member184768
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Ian,

First of all, Welcome to the world of HANA. 🙂

For sure, BODS is not the ONLY Data Integration platform for HANA. There are multiple tools and technologies available for the data integration to HANA. Some of these are

• Direct Extractor Connection(DXC)
  • SAP LT Replication (SLT)
  • Flat File upload