cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Career oppurtunities in SAP variant configuration

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I'm a masters student in economics and business administration and planning to write my thesis in the area of SAP Variant Configuration(VC). I hold a bachelor degree in engineering and have 2.5 years of experience in SAP BASIS but no functional experience.

As I was searching the internet the amount of jobs posted or material/documents shared that are related to SAP - VC is very less. Hardly I was able to see the word 'SAP Variant Configuration' in any job opening that is being posted in the internet.

1. Could someone please tell me about the career prospects with SAP VC.

2. Are there consultants who work only on Variant configuration or is VC used only as a sub topic inside other modules. 

3. What are the essential things that I should learn about SAP VC for a good entry level career.

Thanks and Regards

Thileepan P

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Ritz
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Thileepan Paulraj,

SAP variant Configuration is not a common functionality  and thats why you will find very few specific openings, but at the same time as its a niche skill set its not commonly available, so belive me if you have it under your belt chances of getting job increases with it.

SAP VC is not a module in SAP , its a combination of SAP PP & SD, and when a PP or SD consultant have a additional VC skill set it provide him/her a edge to distinguish from other consultants from same core module area.

VC is mostly use in Automobile Industries, Pump Industries, Mill products, and many more.

1. Could someone please tell me about the career prospects with SAP VC.

2. Are there consultants who work only on Variant configuration or is VC used only as a sub topic inside other modules. 

3. What are the essential things that I should learn about SAP VC for a good entry level career.