cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to handle stateful session in Gateway

0 Kudos

Hello,

i am quite new to SAP UI5 and SAP Gateway. I had a problem in figuring out the below problem.

I have a web application developed in SAP UI5 and connected to ERP via SAP Gateway. I wanted to mantained stateful session for my application like in BSP application we can tick a checkbox "stateful"  and the framework will handle the stateful sessions. Is there similiar thing which can be implemented in SAP UI5 through Gateway.

Regards

Trinoy Hazarika

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Vlad
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hello Trinoy,

NetWeaver Gateway should be used as your data model or data storage. In other words, it must have some entity where you will store data permanently. Actually, for your "checkbox" I would recommend other techniques like:

- use offline storage (HTML5)

- store user settings in cookies

- or use the web server to store them (e.g. in a database).

However, you can implement the same approach with OData webservice. E.g. you can create an entity like user preferences and do all updates. But you must remember that usually webservices can be used by the application to get a collection of items, do some filtering and pagination stuff, and there is a chance that your settings can be accessed by someone.

In other words, you take all the responsibility to prevent user's settings from non-authorized reading.

Kind regards,

Vlad

0 Kudos

Hi VLad,

Would you please elaborate on how the user preference as a entity will help.

Let` s say i have a simple scenario.

1. i have a function module which has a global variable g_value and i have a UI5 application page
    where in there is a button clicking which will increment the global value by 1 and have a label
    which update me the updated value. So lets say i click twice i should get 2 in a stateful scenario.

2. Can this scenario be achieved by user user preferences.