cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using A MySQL Database as A Data Source

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear all,

I'm having problem creating universe using a MySQL database. I have configured the connection in BO Server, both 32 bit and 64 bit, and both connections are working fine when I tested them. However, when I want to create a universe, it shows "DBD: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver specified". Can anyone help?

I'm using SAP BO BI Platform 4.0.

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Ucci,

Have you used ODBC as the middleware? If yes, while creating the connection, in the step where you need to choose the middleware, are you choosing ODBC 3 drivers from the Generic section?

Can you please try by choosing ODBC3 driver from the Generic section and test the behavior?

Thanks,

Madhumitha

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Madhumita,

Sorry, I'm a newbie, what do you mean by using ODBC as middleware? I installed ODBC drivers for MySQL for both 32bit and 64bit in the server where BO Server is installed, and I've tested both DSN connections, it worked fine.

I've had installed the drivers too in the developer machine, but the error message was kept showing until I set same DSN connection in developer machine, the it worked. I managed to create and publish a universe to CMS.

However, when report developers tried to access the universe using WebI, the very same error appears again. It looks like DSN has to be set up again in their machines.

Is there anyway I prevent this? Setting ODBC Connection in each client's DSN is not very effective solution.

Thanks.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Ucci,