cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to migrate ERP to HANA?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Now that SAP announced the Business Suite is in ramp-up for HANA, for me a pressing question arises: How should I migrate an ERP system to HANA?

I am a migration consultant and following the heterogenous system copy guide is the technical way to do it. But how about a safety net?

Remember: SAP promised a risk free migration with BW on HANA. Migrate your BW on RDBMS to BW on HANA, establish a dual-delivery setup from ERP to your two BW systems and take all your time to test and verify your BW on HANA until you finally move the end users to your new BW on HANA system. This approach is brilliant, relatively simple and works fine.

Is such a risk free migration to ERP on HANA also possible? I very much doubt so.

1. You cannot emulate productive workload. There are tools like e.g. Loadrunner where you can do some stress testing of a SAP instance, and you can spend real effort here to include your most important business transactions, but it won't be your real productive workload.(This is not to debase tools like Loadruner, you belong to the top notch IT oranizations if you use them because you can reduce risk significantly.)

2. What would you do if (after all the careful plannings and preparations) the go decision was given and ERP on HANA doesn't behave as expected? Per definition you started the productive work with the real productive workload, and only this workload can reveal whether ERP on HANA is running fine. My imagination and some experience from the last 15 years tell me what might go wrong.