cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is "Multiple Fixed Bins" possible?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

I am very new to WMS and I am now doing investigation on putaway strategies. As far as I notice, SAP provides strategy for dynamic bin, i.e. one material number will be located in different bins, even the bins are physically far away from each other.

In other case, we would like to enjoy the multiple bins function in WMS, but not really want the "dynamic" function since it may make difficulties in daily operation since the bins for one material may be too dynamic. So I want to know is it possible to have "multiple fixed bins"?

What I mean multiple fixed bins is, a material may be assigned to different storage type, but must within a certain bins, say 01-01-01 to 01-01-10. And the material may even be located in different area in one storage type.

Is it possible?

Thanks,

Steven

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

JuergenPitz
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hi,

"So I want to know is it possible to have "multiple fixed bins" (in one storage type, as this is what you are asking)?"

In ERP: No. In EWM: Yes.

In ERP per storage typ you can only assign one bin to each material. You can try what you want to archive by cutting a storage type into several sections and use this to use only small parts of one storage types for certain materials, but the strategy would still be "next empty bin" or something, but not "fixed bin".

Brgds

Juergen

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear all,

Thanks for the reply. Locate fixed bins in different storage types are original my proposal, but I've just noticed that the removal strategies, say FIFO and LIFO, works probably only within one storage type. I think SAP is not propose to divide the storage type as what I proposed (by floor). So I think only multiple fixed bins in one storage type can suit our business need.