cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP HANA basic questions

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to SAP HANA and started understanding the basic architecture. have a few questions. Appreciate if you can clear my doubts.

1) when we load the data (lets take BODS 4.0) to SAP HANA DB, where the data will go intially Disk or In-memory ?

2) If it is to Disk, will the data be automatically moved to In-memory (RAM) OR do we need to do anything ?

3) If i have 100 tables loaded from ECC to HANA, in which i'll use 20 tables only for reporting. so how to move only these tables to In-memory ?

4) I have seen Load,merge options on tables in HANA studio . will these be used for above steps ?

Thanks in advance !

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

mathanponnucham
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hello,

Please do find answer for your questions below:-

1) when we load the data (lets take BODS 4.0) to SAP HANA DB, where the data will go intially Disk or In-memory ?

Ans: Data will be loaded to RAM and then persisted to disk automatically(Data & log) during save points.

3) If i have 100 tables loaded from ECC to HANA, in which i'll use 20 tables only for reporting. so how to move only these tables to In-memory ?

Ans: Can you please explain why do you want to move data from ECC to HANA if you are not using it?

Data will be loaded from disk to RAM when ever you execute a query that involves a table which is not already in the RAM

4) I have seen Load,merge options on tables in HANA studio . will these be used for above steps ?

Ans: Delta Merge is not used for data loading.

A column store table is comprised of two index types, for each column a main index and a delta index. The delta storage is optimized for write operations and the main storage is optimized in terms of read performance and memory consumption. Delta mege is used to transform data from delta index to main index. More informaiton in link : http://scn.sap.com/docs/DOC-27558

Rgds,