cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In which functional area is Java strong?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a java developer and would like to begin my studies of SAP.

I would like to know in which SAP functional area java is strong. I mean, I have heard that java is stronger in CRM and HR.

What do you think? Are there more modules in which java is largely used?

Actually, I would like to work in SD. Is that a strong area for Java development in SAP?

Thanks!

Marcos

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Marcos,

Most of the SAP modules (SD, FI, MM, PM etc...) are based around the Netweaver ABAP platform - so from a functional prespective Java doesn't really feature all that much. Having said that Java is used widely in some products like Web Channel Experience Management the is Java based and the new Netweaver Cloud offering is all Java based:

You should also look at

Hope this helps,
Simon

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

hofmann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Why do you need to know in which functional area Java is stronger than ABAP? I mean, when you treat a functional area, you'll have to know how the software works, how to achieve a specific result. You do not necessarily have to code it. That comes later.

If you want to learn SD, you'll need some time to understand the module, and if it is realized in ABAP, Java, perl, PHP, javascript or whatever, does not matter. If you want to focus on SD for enhancing the software, writing new features, then the used language is getting interesting.

And while SAP is saying they are not a  technology company and not selling technology, but business solutions to customers, SAP is a heavy tech company with a very, very strong focus on ABAP. To work with the core of SAP, knowing ABAP makes much more sense than Java.