Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MDM data extraction --Delta extract variant and message type

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi frined,

I am new at data extractor.

I know delta extracts only changed/updated data since last time extraction. I need to create a variant based on delta extract method. I was suggested that I need to create a new message type (WE81) if I use delta extract. I understand once I choose delta, I need a change pointer thing to record the last time extraction.  Please help me to understand the linkage between message type and delta extractor. In another word, what does this new message type do with the process of delta extractor... how do they connect together: message type,change pointer and delta extract process.

Thanks in advance for any advice or realted documentation..

Linda

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Linda,

Please refer to section beyond page 128 of this document - http://www.erpdb.info/wp-content/uploads/downloads/2011/05/ALE-IDoc-Complete-Tutorial.pdf

Message type has to be linked to a custom function module.This custom module should take care of

the delta records extraction using function CHANGE_POINTERS_READ and  building a logic

Thanks,

Ravi

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Linda,

Can you please let me know if you are trying to extract data using MDM_CLNT_EXTR standard transaction in ECC? Also please let me kknow if you want to extract data in standard idocs like DEBMDM, CREMDM or MATMAS05 etc?

If you need to extract data in standard idocs, then there is no need to create message type through WE81. You can simply enable Change Pointers for the concerned message type and use Delta extraction through MDM_CLNT_EXTR. Please let me know your requirement so that i could answer to your post in better way. Thank you.

Regards,

Ankush

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ankush,

Thank you for your reponse.