cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximum size / complexity of ESP Model

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to say hello to the community as this is my very first posting here. I am working for the SAP Innovation Centre in Potsdam Germany and there we are working on a project together with Bigpoint, an online gaming company where we are using Sybase ESP 5.0 to stream live event data of Bigpoint's online games.

In this context and as an ESP newbie I have tons of questions regarding CCL, Splash, Adaptors, Pubsub and all that stuff which I hope to get answered here.

For the start I have a question regarding the maximum size or complexity of ESP models in 5.0.

To understand the problem, I should say that we have a rather complex problem that we would like to solve with ESP. We want to collect Vectors of event-fields for each and every active user in a game reflexing their ingame behaviour. We have a very sparse event landscape with about 250 different events and over 2000 fields in total.

Based on metadata about this event landscape we generate our ccl file.

We have tried different approaches in generating the ccl with different results.

Now we are at a point were we seem to have reached a maximum complexity in ccl in some dimension. When trying to compile our ccl we get the following error message from the compiler:

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range'

what():  vector::_M_range_check

Aborted

Does anybody have information about how complex models can get?

Here are some numbers describing our model:

~38.000 lines of code in ccl

~250 input streams one for each event

max ~ 150 fields for single input streams describing the fields for the event

--> one flex stream with ~250 IN - streams

--> one flex stream with ~2000 Fields in the Schema