Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inspection lot generation in particular shift

former_member215620
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Dear Sir,

I am working in a process industry and here we have 3 shifts. I want to know that can i generate a inspection lot automatically with inspection type 02 for a particular material in any one of the shifts irrespective to that the material will be issued in every shift.

Our quality department do the quality test of material for only once in a day in between 9am to 6pm. So here between this timing 2 shifts is coming A and B. But they issue in every shift. So if i use the movement type 261 to generate the inspection lot then inspection lot will be generated in every shift.

As i am new in quality so please give the response as soon as possible.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, Saurabh,

In my opinion, since inspection type 02 is stock irrelevent, it's purpose is just to record the inspection result for quality control. So you can consider customizing an inspection type for manual inspection lot launching. This means you give up the function of automatic generating lot when doing 261, and have your production (or warehouse?) people manually launch inspeciton lot only when the quality people will do the inspection.

Another option is that simply let the quality department skip and close the redundant inspection lot directly (you can set a specific UD code to track such operation). There may need to have explicit indentification on your physical sample delivered to quality people, so that they know which inspection lot to skip.

I know that frequently there are special cases in process industries that SAP QM standard functions can not meet. My point of view is that as long as critical operations and quality control needs are not impacted, it is some times acceptable to compromise on the business/user side. Hope that helps.