cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

'Cannot create target element' error

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am very new to PI so please bear with me as I attempt my problem...

In one of my message mappings I am get the following error:

Cannot create target element /ns1:MeterReadingResults/Route/ReadingInformation[269]/Reading/AddressCode1. Values missing in queue context. Target XSD requires a value for this element, but the target-field mapping does not create one. Check whether the XML instance is valid for the source XSD, and whether the target-field mapping fulfils the requirement of the target XSD

From my research, I thought that the mapWithDefault function might help here (I inserted it between the last IfThenElse output and the target node); I tried mapWithDefault in all sorts of combinations here but the error remains. For a sanity check, I sent a Constant value directly to the target node which allowed the entire mapping to run successfully -- so the error must be in here. I'm not sure what to try next and this is becoming a crucial issue for my company; would anyone be able to assist this PI newbie?

........................................................................................................................

The intended flow of this node mapping is as follows: If the MeterChangeData ('MeterCha...') node exists, use the NewReadingInstructionCode1 ('NewRead...') node value. Otherwise, use the ReadInstructionCode1 ('ReadInstr...'). If the resulting value is either 98 or 99, map it to another value (via FixValues function). Output the resulting value to the target node.

........................................................................................................................

Here is my mapping ('collapseC' below is the collapseContexts function, 'queue' is a UDF and the code for it is at the bottom of the post):