cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Services and Information Steward Relationship

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to Information Steward. I am trying to understand whether
SAP Business Objects data services part of Information Steward or not?

When I read documentation on Data Services it seems it
includes similar things as Information Steward for quality management. Looks
like, at some point SAP decided to make a new product called Information Steward?
Is it correct, so what is in Information Steward that is not in Data Services
and same the other way (what is in Data Services which is not in Information
Steward). My company is going to set Information Steward next year, want to get
an idea what it covers?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

NielsWeigel
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert

Hi Prem,

welcome to SAP Information Steward community!

SAP Data Services (or Data Quality Management) and SAP Information Steward are two solutions from the EIM portfolio, that address different users within the company and support different task to be executed to support broader Information Governance projects.

While generally speaking, SAP Information Steward enables customers to interactively analyze the data assets they have and the quality level of these data assets including the DQ Scorecard enabling them to drill down to the failed records and the impact/lineage analysis to identify even root causes or impact for failed records; they are then using SAP Data Services to move data between these assets (e.g. loading data warehouse etc.) and to cleanse the failed data (using Data Cleanse, Address Cleanse transforms), create links or match records to each other (using the Match transform) or even enrich their data (using the GeoCoder transform).