cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lis most used indexes

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear all,

I would like to rebuild most used indexes from my server ( SAP on Oracle ). I am quite new in this, is there any way to check somehow most used indexes that can be rebuilt ?

Any advice is welcomed,

Thanks,

J.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

volker_borowski2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

why would you like to do so?

I recommend to do a google search for several Articles/Blogs from Richard Foote concerning this topic.

Yes, rebuilding indexes can help in some cases, but you should not do this just for the fun of it, and

"most used" is certainly the worst criteria to be chosen, when to decide which one to rebuild.

There are several others that would be more relvant.

Volker

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Volker,

I did not know that most used indexes are not a criteria. Thanks for sharing that.

I just went to ST04 in SAP, and under Segments, I listed most used indexes and my selction criteria was to rebuild them.

I 'll try to read mr. Foote's articles. Also if you have any other ideas, do not hesitate to share them.

Thanks in advance,

J.

volker_borowski2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Well these are not "my" ideas, and when doing the mentioned research you'll find quite good explanations. You will also find blogs descibing the complete oposite opinion. Evaluate the arguments on your own then (But I think Richard is ahead mostly):

- rebuilding indexes of tables that get frequent DML (update/insert) might be bad, because a rebuild will squeeze out required freespace to serve these operation. So theses operations might then require additional block-splits, thus suffering.