cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Null object Frustration

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am working on fixing a date bug with Mii, however I am pulling my hair out due to one hurdle I cannot seem to get over.

Long story short, I am trying to retrieve a value from the database, and display it on the page. I give it a formatted date, and it used that to get the corresponding value.

However, it keeps giving me the scripting error "document.Fiscal.CurrentFiscalYearApp is null or not an object".

I am new to this application, but I have looked at existing examples, and I cannot find anything wrong.

All it's suppose to do is set a value of a global variable to the current fiscal year (according to the DB, as well as keeping it behind the scenes), and also displays it on the page.

It keeps bringing up the test parameter result. If I remove it, I get nothing.

Below is code I've added. This is found on a separate javascript file, which the main page references.

-----------------------

var intYear = fncGetFiscalYear();

function fncGetFiscalYear()

{

var dt = new Date();

var dateString = dt.getMonth() + "/" + dt.getDay() + "/" + dt.getFullYear() + " " + dt.getHours() + ":" + dt.getMinutes() + ":" + dt.getSeconds();   

document.CurrentFiscalYearApp.getQueryObject().setParam(1,dateString);   

document.CurrentFiscalYearApp.refresh();

return document.CurrentFiscalYearApp.getItemAt(1);

}

--------------------------

This is the object on the main page

<APPLET NAME="CurrentFiscalYearApp" CODEBASE="/XMII/Classes" CODE="iBrowser" ARCHIVE="illum8.zip" WIDTH="120" HEIGHT="19" MAYSCRIPT>

<PARAM NAME="QueryTemplate" VALUE="FootPrint/Reports/CurrentFiscalYearQry" />

<PARAM NAME="DisplayTemplate" VALUE="FootPrint/Defaults/FiscalYearBrowser" />

</APPLET>

The query is perfectly fine. I've tested it numerous times, always gives the correct result.