cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP XI JDBC update SQL statement

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to JDBC to RFC configuration and is currently on a deadlock.

We are running a real time JDBC update statement where records are created based on employee login. We have configured the sender adapter to retrieved 5 records for every 5 seconds using the SQL query below:

select *  from dtable where  uploaded=false order by recordno asc limit 5;

and update using:

update dtable set uploaded=true where uploaded=false order by recordno asc limit 5;

The problem is that when there are only 3 records retrieved in the selection, the update statement always update 5 records back. This makes records created in-between the select and update to be updated as well.

Can anyone suggest the correct update statement? Can I use the record numbers retrieved from the first statement in the update?

Thanks,

Ryan

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Thanks for your inputs. I have solved this by setting the JDBC sender comm channel Isolation level to Serializable. And after days of monitoring the issue stop occuring.

Regards,

Ryan

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

baskar_gopalakrishnan2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Few cents.... First of all why do you need order by clause for update. You are not populating that data any where for other system. I would recommend to use sql statement as needed.  So the simplest answer is correct the update system as below.... Your select query remains still same.

update dtable set uploaded=true where uploaded=false

anupam_ghosh2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Ryan,

Could you please try this SQL statement for update instead of two statements.

update dtable set uploaded=true where  field1 in (select field1 from dbtable where uploaded=false order by recordno asc limit 5);