cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mimix vs Remote Journaling

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am considering DR solution for one of my customers'. Is Mimix a better than remote journaling?

What is SAP's support policy on Mimix?

Best regards,

Prince Sharma

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Prince,

I have been working with Mimix on the AS/400 (I5) for over 8 years. The last three years with SAP. It is a very good product. Once a year we do a switch test where we run on our DR box for a week. We are in the middle of one right now. Once we got past the learning curve we have had successful test. Every switch test on our SAP boxes has been successful. Keep in mind there is a significant learning curve, especially if you have never used an HA product before. Also keep in mind it is not a product that you install and then forget about. You will need to spend time every day, 30 minutes to an hour for us, checking that everything is staying in sync.

Best regards,

Don

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Don,

We are also looking @ MIMIX for our HA solution. Was just wondering if there is a config document somewhere available. I checked the lakeview website.All they have or what I saw were whitepapers on MIMIX.

Is there any other place where we can find some good documents on configuring MIMIX for SAP??

Thanks

Abhi

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Abhi,

There is a best practice document for SAP-Mimix, mainly for audit and constraint check - as I remember. The detailed configuration could be a bit different depending on the customers' environments...

It is not easy to self-study Mimix... I took the 5-day operation course, still needed to hire consultant when replacing the backup server, and at the end we had to call the 610 number during the first switch... The good news is that consultants are available, and once it is stable, it serves you well.