cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transport query related to Security Roles

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a SAP security consultant with some basic knowledge about Transports.

I have a question based on Transports for my Roles:

If there are 2 transports in a QAS system with same Security Roles, but with separate values for those Roles, do they maintain their individuality?

OR the transport that came in latest overwrite the Tables and then those values will reflect in both transports going forward?

Scenario

I have a scenario where the same set of roles are being modified in separate Development Clients.

However, we have only 1 QA client.

RoleSet-1 - DEV 100 - Go-Live in PRD on 25-June

RoleSet-2 - DEV 200 - Go-Live in PRD on 15-June

RoleSet-1 - QAS 100 - From 1-june to 25-June

RoleSet-2 - QAS 100 - From 9-june to 15-June

* RoleSet-2 changes made manually to RoleSet-1 in DEV 100 to make the Roles consistent across landscape. This transport will be moved to PRD on 25-June so that RolesSet-2 changes are retained.

Now, When the transport for RoleSet-2 moves from QAS to PRD on 15-June, will it take the changes of RoleSet-1?

OR will it retain only the values that it originally contains from DEV 200?

Thanks.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Abhishek,

If I understand you correctly, you are talking about a common role in DEV 100 and 200 (Say role XYZ) but with different values in each client. Now you are planning to move this role(roleset-2) from DEV 200 to PRD on Jun 15th to replace the Role XYZ in PRD( which I assume is similar to XYZ role in DEV 100) and want to revert back the changes to original role from 25th June for which you are importing the RoleSet-1 in PRD.