cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

integration with BW

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to APO. This question may seem like silly but it will surely be helpful to novices like me.

I want to know the detailed steps /settings needed to integrate internal bw with ecc system.

Thank you

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Pratyusa,

Like any BW project, it depends upon what you wish to 'integrate'.

BW is included within APO to support certain features within APO.  There is no inherent necessity to 'integrate' with ECC; this internal BW system would happily run integrating only with the APO server applications.

Most Demand Planning implementations include creating custom BW functionality used to support Sales forecasting.  Here you would use the same techniques to extract data from ECC as you would with any other BW system.

Sometimes a project to implement a non-APO BW system will need to have data that only exists in APO and APO BW data structures.  Here again, you would use the same techniques to extract data from the APO internal BW that you would use to extract data from any other BW system; nothing special required.

There are no 'standard' detailed steps required to integrate APO BW with ECC.  The BW consultant may decide to create some links, based upon the client's business requirements.

Within the Best Practices for Demand Planning, there exists a Configuration Guide which contains a sample of an extract used to move data from ECC to BW.  This is always a good starting point if you know nothing about BW.

http://help.sap.com/saap/sap_bp/bblibrary/html/y94_scm701_en_xx.htm

Best Regards,

DB49

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks a lot. you gave a simple and easy to understand description.

In a scenario I want to extract data from a flat file (.csv) to SAP APO planning book. In this case as per my knowledge following things are required.

1.extracting the data from the flat file to a datasource.