Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MDM 7.1 - Migration Server

former_member199849
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi friends!!

I have a SAP Netweaver MDM 7.1 installed on Windows 2003, we are going to change the server to Windows 2008, I don't know if the migration will be a new installation and then migrate the database, if this is the case, how is the correct procedure to migrate database, repositories? Do you have a useful guide?
I am new in MDM.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

former_member199849
Participant
0 Kudos

With Backup and restore? , because I going to install the new MDM with the same caracterisitc, SID, ports, etccc so I guess backup and restore will be an option, my DB is SQL 2005

Am I rigth?

thomas_haase
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi,

no I do it without Backup and Restore.

When you have installed a new system you must now make an archive with the MDM Console from every repository. Than copy it to the new server unter (on linux it is under /usr/sap/<SID>/MDSxx/mdm/archives) and do an unarchive on the new server.

Before you make the unarchive you must to create an repository. Logon to the repository and than unarchive. You will automatic logoff from the repository, but that is okay.

You should also edit the *.ini files if you have some spezial parameter in the old system.

Regards

Thomas

If you give me your email adress, I could send you a dokumentation

Thomas

former_member199849
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Thomas

This is my email address :  agmunoz87@gmail.com

And my skype account is   andygio87

Thanks

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

We have a customer where they want to migrate MDM Server as same Scenarios as Andrea,Please can you help me on the documentation my email ID avinashgowda.87@gmail.com    

Thank you very much in advance

Thanks,

Avinash

thomas_haase
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi,