cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Message mapping via graphical editor in PI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to PI and exploring the graphical editor for message mapping. Can someone please guide me how I can split the full name in my source message into first name and last name in my target message?

For example..  source: Full Name=John Smith ----------->  Target: First Name= John

Last Name= Smith

Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (7)

Answers (7)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Alex, Greg,

I was able to get both the codes to work and do my mapping as wanted. Thank you very much for your help.

Former Member
0 Kudos

how you solved?

Former Member
0 Kudos

2 Greg - you function has execution type "All values of queue" so you must handle context changes then. And what if name has no space? It leads to ArrayIndexOutofBounds exception

2 Batul - Here is working function  code. BTW, I checked and debugged this code with Testview.

public void splitFullName(String[] fullName, ResultList firstName,
               ResultList lastName, Container container)
               throws StreamTransformationException {

for (int i = 0; i < fullName.length; i++){
               if (fullName[i].equals(ResultList.CC)){
                    firstName.addContextChange();
                    lastName.addContextChange();
               }else{
                    String name = fullName[i].trim();

int start = name.indexOf(' ');
                    int end = name.lastIndexOf(' ');

String firstNameStr = "";
                    String middleNameStr = "";
                    String lastNameStr = "";

if (start > 0) {
                         firstNameStr = name.substring(0, start);
                         if (end > start) {
                              middleNameStr = name.substring(start + 1, end);
                         }
                         lastNameStr = name.substring(end + 1, name.length());
                    } else {